Scroll to top
en de

Data Layer in Google Analytics 4

What is the Data Layer?

Data layer is one of the most important concepts to grasp in web tracking, especially if you are working with Google Tag Manager. It is an invisible, virtual “container” or layer that temporarily stores important data points (product id, client id, information about a click element etc.). 
In its technical definition, the data layer is a JavaScript array. And thus you can extract elements from the array and use them as firing triggers and variables that will help in tracking custom information on your website. In fact, Google Tag Manager heavily relies on the data layer to track certain custom events (like eCommerce tracking) and is the “source” that it depends on to read data points from your website and then send them to other tools like Facebook pixel, Google Ads, and Google Analytics. It is the “bread and butter” of GTM.

How does Google tag manager Data Layer work?

This is an example of a Google Tag manager container snippet that should be placed in the head of the source code to start tracking events. Notice in the snippet code, there is a data layer creation. Once you implement the Google Tag Manager container’s JavaScript snippet in the head of your website’s source code, the data layer will be automatically created. If however, your website already has a data layer, then the snippet code will adjust to it and use it.

How to insert data in the data layer?

So we talked about what is the data layer. You might ask, how is it used and where does this data come from, basically how is data pushed to the data layer ?

Remember the GTM container created an empty data layer. Therefore it needs to be filled with data that later on can be used by Google Tag manager in order to track custom events. 
There are two ways that this can be done (the data layer will be filled with data that gets automatically tracked, however we will explain how to insert additional data). 

Be careful
This requires technical knowledge in manipulating the source code of a website. Your web developer might not be familiar with what a data layer is. That is why it is best to collaborate in setting up the data layer. The developer handles the technical implementation of the events you want to track. However, if you feel comfortable handling the backend code of your website, you can proceed on your own. 

1. Data Layer declaration

The first method is called a data layer declaration. With this method, you add the data layer before the GTM container snippet and it would look something like this

So this method is very rarely used, and not recommended but we just wanted to also explain it clearly. 

First, it is a very limited method, as it needs to be added above the GTM container. What it basically means is that you are defining a data layer where certain variables that Google Tag manager can then fetch, and transfer to Google Analytics 4 are already given when GTM is loaded. Imagine that you want to change certain variables that you have defined in the data layer, or update certain values if you re-implement it below the container, you will redefine the data layer as a new array and overwrite everything you have set up before. It can potentially break your entire tracking setup.

2. Data Layer push method

The datalayer.push method allows you to add the data layer anywhere in the code (before or after the GTM container snippet) and it will not stop any of your tracking tags. And it would look something like this: 

window.datalayer = window.dataLayer  ||  [];

window.dataLayer.push ({})

This is just the statement in itself (like the one shown in the first method) 

So you can see that with this method, the data layer is called first, and then a push request is added to push or add information into the existing data layer. Usually data or variables comes in “pairs” in the data layer. You have a variable key and a value for that key. Let’s check out the following example. Let’s say you want to track newsletter subscriptions. Form tracking method may not work on subscriptions, you might also catch the subscription with a click event, but you can also ask your developer to push this event to the data layer whenever it occurs on the website.

window.datalayer = window.dataLayer  ||  [ ];

window.dataLayer.push ({
‘event ‘ : ‘ new_subscription_complete’
})

With this statement, the ‘event’ key is being pushed to the data layer, and the value of this key is ‘new_subscription_complete’. And then, this event can be used as a custom trigger (custom event trigger) to fire a tracking tag on that event. 

eCommerce object and variables (purchase event example)

Usually, data layer is mostly used to track an eCommerce funnel. Google analytics does not automatically track eCommerce events, therefore events like add to cart, begin checkout, purchase are manually configured and pushed to the data layer. In this article we will not dive into the technical setup of an eCommerce object in the data layer, rather, we will show you what a “purchase” event might look like for example and how you can extract valuable information to use in Google Tag manager.

If you have already set up an eCommerce object in Universal Analytics (UA) you can still use it in setting up tags when migrating to Google Analytics 4. The eCommerce object structure is a bit different between the two analytics versions, however, as mentioned, the main topic of this article is to understand the data layer. So in our example, we will show what an eCommerce purchase event might look like in the data layer in UA and how to access the different variables. 

In Javascript, the {} designates an object. We can see that we have three “nested” objects, ecommerce, purchase, and actionField. Within those objects there are variables (remember that variables are defined in “pairs” meaning a key and a value) that are important to extract. 

We also notice the “analyzify_purchase” event was pushed to the data layer. In order to first track the event, we need to set up a trigger that will fire a tracking tag. We can use it as a custom event trigger. Remember, the name of the event should exactly match the name of the pushed event. 

Then, we set a tag that will fire under this condition (aka. When this event occurs).  But, before we do that, let’s see how we can extract some of the important variables or “data” from the data layer and forward them to GA4. 

As mentioned previously, when migrating to Google Analytics 4 you can still use the eCommerce data layer you set up in the previous version. Let’s say we want to get the transaction ID and save it in a variable. To access it, we need to access all three objects because it lies in the third one. So it will look like this, ecommerce.purchase.actionField.id  As you notice, we “drill down” through objects with the “.” operator up until we reach the key we want. Let’s then go back to Google Tag manager and set this variable up. 

We need to set a data layer variable configuration because that’s where we are extracting the data from. 

You can probably guess by now how to get the other variables. ecommerce.purchase.actionField.revenue.xxx (xxx being the variable you want). 

Other than the actionField object, we have the Products array (defined by [ ]) that contains an object itself. [ { } ] 
To select the product array, select ecommerce.purchase.products

Now that we have set up all our variables, we go back to our initial tag we were setting up to track the purchase event.

The tag configuration will look something like this: 

We forward all the event parameters to GA4. To finally make sure that all the variables are properly set up, head to the variables section in GTM preview mode and check whether they show correct results. As you can see below, the variables indeed show the exact same values as the variables in the data layer. 

Closing Notes

The data layer is a very important concept to grasp when dealing with web tracking. The more you familiarize yourself with the data layer, the more useful you’ll find it. It may seem a bit difficult and too technical, however it is essential to understand. Once you know how to push data into the data layer, you will have much more flexibility in tracking very custom events that happen on your website. If you require any help or consultation in setting up Google Analytics 4, Google Tag manager, or configuring an entire data infrastructure for your business, we are one click away!

Related posts

de en

Data Layer in Google Analytics 4

Was ist Data Layer?

Data Layer ist eines der wichtigsten Konzepte, die man beim Webtracking verstehen muss, insbesondere wenn man mit dem Google Tag Manager arbeitet. Es handelt sich um einen unsichtbaren, virtuellen “Container” oder Layer, der wichtige Datenpunkte (Produkt-ID, Kunden-ID, Informationen über ein Klickelement usw.) vorübergehend speichert. In seiner technischen Definition ist der Data Layer ein JavaScript-Array. Sie können also Elemente aus dem Array extrahieren und sie als Auslöser und Variablen verwenden, die bei der Verfolgung benutzerdefinierter Informationen auf Ihrer Website helfen. Tatsächlich verlässt sich der Google Tag Manager in hohem Maße auf den Data Layer, um bestimmte benutzerdefinierte Events (wie z. B. die Kaufverfolgung) zu verfolgen, und ist die “Quelle”, auf die er angewiesen ist, um Datenpunkte von Ihrer Website zu lesen und sie dann an andere Tools wie Facebook Pixel, Google Ads und Google Analytics zu senden.

Wie funktioniert der Google Tag Manager Data Layer?

Dies ist ein Beispiel für ein Google Tag Manager-Container-Snippet, das im Kopf des Quellcodes platziert werden sollte, um die Verfolgung von Events zu starten. Beachten Sie, dass im Code des Snippets ein Data Layer erstellt wird. Sobald Sie das JavaScript-Snippet des Google Tag Manager-Containers in den Kopf des Quellcodes Ihrer Website implementieren, wird der Data Layer automatisch erstellt. Wenn Ihre Website jedoch bereits über eine Data Layer verfügt, passt sich der Snippet-Code an diese an und verwendet sie.

Wie fügt man Daten in dem Data Layer ein?

Wir haben also darüber gesprochen, was der Data Layer ist. Sie werden sich vielleicht fragen, wie der verwendet wird und woher diese Daten kommen, im Grunde genommen, wie die Daten in dem Data Layer übertragen werden?

Denken Sie daran, dass der GTM-Container einen leeren Data Layer erstellt hat. Daher muss dieser mit Daten gefüllt werden, die später vom Google Tag Manager verwendet werden können, um benutzerdefinierte Events zu verfolgen. Es gibt zwei Möglichkeiten, dies zu tun (der Data Layer wird mit Daten gefüllt, die automatisch verfolgt werden, aber wir werden erklären, wie man zusätzliche Daten einfügt).

Seien Sie vorsichtig Dies erfordert technische Kenntnisse bei der Manipulation des Quellcodes einer Website. Ihr Webentwickler ist möglicherweise nicht damit vertraut, was ein Data Layer ist. Deshalb ist es am besten, bei der Einrichtung des Data Layers zusammenzuarbeiten. Der Entwickler kümmert sich um die technische Umsetzung der Events, die Sie verfolgen möchten. Wenn Sie sich jedoch mit dem Backend-Code Ihrer Website gut auskennen, können Sie auch allein vorgehen.

1. Data Layer declaration

Die erste Methode wird als data layer declaration bezeichnet. Mit dieser Methode fügen Sie den Data Layer vor dem GTM-Container-Snippet ein, was etwa so aussehen würde

Diese Methode wird also nur sehr selten angewandt und nicht empfohlen, trotzdem möchten wir sie deutlich erklären. 

Erstens ist es eine sehr eingeschränkte Methode, da sie oberhalb des GTM-Containers hinzugefügt werden muss. Im Grunde bedeutet dies, dass Sie einen Data Layer definieren, in dem bestimmte Variablen gespeichert werden, die der Google Tag Manager dann abrufen und an Google Analytics 4 übertragen kann. Stellen Sie sich vor, Sie möchten bestimmte Variablen ändern, die Sie im Data Layer definiert haben, oder bestimmte Werte aktualisieren, wenn Sie den Data Layer unterhalb des Containers neu implementieren, werden Sie den als neues Array neu definieren und alles überschreiben, was Sie zuvor eingerichtet haben. Dadurch wird Ihr gesamtes Tracking-Setup zerstört.

2. Data Layer Push Method

Die Methode datalayer.push ermöglicht es Ihnen, den Data Layer an einer beliebigen Stelle im Code einzufügen (vor oder nach dem GTM-Container-Snippet), ohne dass Ihre Tracking-Tags gestoppt werden. Und es würde in etwa so aussehen:

window.datalayer = window.dataLayer  ||  [];

window.dataLayer.push ({})

Dies ist nur die Anweisung (wie in der ersten Methode gezeigt) 

Sie sehen also, dass bei dieser Methode zuerst der Data Layer aufgerufen wird und dann eine Push-Anforderung hinzugefügt wird, um Informationen in den bestehenden Data Layer zu schieben oder hinzuzufügen. Normalerweise werden Daten oder Variablen in dem Data-Layer in “pairs” geliefert. Sie haben einen variable key und Value für diesen key. Schauen wir uns das folgende Beispiel an. Nehmen wir an, Sie möchten Newsletter-Abonnements verfolgen. Die Form-Tracking-Methode funktioniert möglicherweise nicht bei Abonnements, Sie können das Abonnement auch mit einem Click-Event erfassen, aber Sie können Ihren Entwickler auch bitten, dieses Event in dem Data Layer zu pushen, wenn es auf der Website auftritt.

window.datalayer = window.dataLayer  ||  [ ];

window.dataLayer.push ({ ‘event ‘ : ‘ new_subscription_complete’ })

Mit diesem Statement wird der Event Key an den Data Layer weitergegeben, und der Value dieses Schlüssels ist “new_subscription_complete”.

Dieses Event kann dann als benutzerdefinierter Auslöser (Custom Event Trigger) verwendet werden, um ein Tracking-Tag für dieses Event auszulösen.

E-Commerce-Objekt und -Variablen (Beispiel eines Kauf-Events)

Normalerweise wird der Data Layer vor allem zur Verfolgung eines E-Commerce Funnels verwendet. Google Analytics verfolgt E-Commerce-Ereignisse nicht automatisch, daher werden Events wie (in den Warenkorb legen, zur Kasse gehen, kaufen) manuell konfiguriert und in den Data Layer übertragen. In diesem Artikel werden wir nicht in die technische Einrichtung eines E-Commerce-Objekts im Data Layer eintauchen, sondern Ihnen zeigen, wie ein “Kauf”-Event zum Beispiel aussehen könnte und wie Sie wertvolle Informationen zur Verwendung im Google Tag Manager extrahieren können.  

Wenn Sie bereits ein E-Commerce-Objekt in Universal Analytics (UA) eingerichtet haben, können Sie es auch bei der Migration zu Google Analytics 4 für die Einrichtung von Tags verwenden. Die Struktur des E-Commerce-Objekts unterscheidet sich ein wenig zwischen den beiden Analytics-Versionen, aber wie bereits erwähnt, geht es in diesem Artikel hauptsächlich um das Verständnis des Data Layers. In unserem Beispiel zeigen wir also, wie ein E-Commerce-Event im Data Layer in UA aussehen könnte und wie man auf die verschiedenen Variablen zugreift.

In Javascript bezeichnen die {} ein Objekt. Wir können sehen, dass wir drei “nested” Objekte haben, ecommerce, purchase und actionField. Innerhalb dieser Objekte gibt es Variablen (denken Sie daran, dass Variablen in “pairs” definiert sind, d. h. ein Key und ein Value), die zu extrahieren sind.

Wir sehen auch, dass das Event “analyzify_purchase” in den Data Layer verschoben wurde. Um das Event zunächst zu verfolgen, müssen wir einen Trigger einrichten, der ein Tracking-Tag auslöst. Wir können ihn als benutzerdefinierten Event-Auslöser verwenden. Denken Sie daran, dass der Name des Ereignisses genau mit dem Namen des geschobenen Ereignisses übereinstimmen muss.

Dann setzen wir ein Tag, das unter dieser Bedingung ausgelöst wird. Aber bevor wir das tun, wollen wir sehen, wie wir einige der wichtigen Variablen oder “Daten” aus dem Data Layer extrahieren und an GA4 weiterleiten können.

Wie bereits erwähnt, können Sie bei der Migration zu Google Analytics 4 weiterhin den Data Layer für E-Commerce verwenden, den Sie in der vorherigen Version eingerichtet haben. Nehmen wir an, wir möchten die Transaktions-ID abrufen und in einer Variablen speichern. Um auf sie zuzugreifen, müssen wir auf alle drei Objekte zugreifen, da sie im dritten Objekt liegt. Es sieht also wie folgt aus: ecommerce.purchase.actionField.id 

Wie Sie sehen, durchsuchen wir die Objekte mit dem “.”-Operator, bis wir den gewünschten Key erreichen. Danach kehren wir zum Google Tag Manager zurück und richten diese Variable ein. 

Wir müssen eine Data Layer-Variable konfigurieren, da wir die Daten aus diesem Bereich extrahieren.

Sie können sich wahrscheinlich schon vorstellen, wie Sie die anderen Variablen erhalten. ecommerce.purchase.actionField.revenue.xxx (xxx ist die Variable, die Sie benötigen).

Außer dem actionField-Objekt gibt es noch das Products-Array (definiert durch [ ]), das selbst ein Objekt enthält. [ { } ] Um das Produkt-Array auszuwählen, wählen Sie ecommerce.purchase.products.

Nachdem wir nun alle unsere Variablen eingerichtet haben, kehren wir zu unserem ursprünglichen Tag zurück, den wir zur Verfolgung des Kauf-Events eingerichtet haben.

Die Tag-Konfiguration sieht dann etwa so aus: 

Wir leiten alle Event-Parameter an GA4 weiter. Um abschließend sicherzustellen, dass alle Variablen ordentlich eingerichtet sind, gehen Sie zum Abschnitt Variablen im GTM-Vorschaumodus und überprüfen Sie, ob die Ergebnisse korrekt angezeigt werden. Wie Sie unten sehen können, zeigen die Variablen tatsächlich genau die gleichen Werte wie die Variablen im Data Layer.

Schlussbemerkungen

Der Data Layer ist ein sehr wichtiges Konzept, das man verstehen muss, wenn man sich mit Web-Tracking beschäftigt. Je mehr Sie sich mit dem Data Layer vertraut machen, desto nützlicher werden Sie diesen finden. Es mag ein wenig schwierig und zu technisch erscheinen, aber es ist wichtig, es zu verstehen. Sobald Sie wissen, wie Sie Daten in den Data Layer einspeisen können, haben Sie viel mehr Flexibilität bei der Verfolgung von benutzerdefinierten Events auf Ihrer Website. Wenn Sie Hilfe oder Beratung bei der Einrichtung von Google Analytics 4, Google Tag Manager oder der Konfiguration einer kompletten Dateninfrastruktur für Ihr Unternehmen benötigen, sind wir nur einen Klick entfernt!

Related posts